An ultra-rare vintage Mercedes-Benz 300 SL Gullwing is going up for auction

Credit: Gooding & Company

Up there with some of the greats in classic vintage cars is the Mercedes Benz 300 SL Gullwing. This is an extremely beautiful mid-century supercar that was way ahead of its time, and now, Gooding & Company is auctioning one of them off. 

Dubbed the world’s first ever supercar, the 300 SL Gullwing was first released in 1954 as a special-order US export. Max Hoffman, an American distributor for Mercedes Benz at the time, personally made a request for a road car inspired by the company’s earlier racing cars. With some persuasion, and an order for 500 cars on the spot, the legendary 300 SL Gullwing was born. 

Credit: Gooding & Company

What makes this particular 1955 Gullwing even more remarkable is that it is completely unrestored. The classic model sports a fire-engine-red paint job – a stunning contrast to the pale grey leather interior. And, if you look closely, you’ll notice that this Gullwing has a full set of Rudge wheels – the ultimate accessory in the car collecting universe and a sure elevation into ultra-rare status. 

The ownership history of this Gullwing is just as incredible as the car itself. With a strictly Californian history, all five previous owners of the car have been within the sunny West Coast state. In fact, Garth Hemmings, a specialist at Gooding & Company, was once a proud owner of the red Mercedes.

The Geared Online auction will take place from 3 Aug at 9am PDT/ 4 Aug 12am HKT to 7 Aug at 12pm PDT/ 8 Aug at 3am HKT. For more information or to place a bid, visit Gooding & Company’s website.

See also: Charge to the future: Hong Kong’s best luxury electric cars

In this Story: tech / #culture