CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees: Marc Jacobs, Olsen Twins, Altuzarra, Bowie

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen won CFDA Womenswear Awards in 2015 and 2012  (Credit: AFP Photo / Timothy A. Clary)

​Nominees in six categories spanning Womenswear, Menswear and Accessories have been annonuced by the Council for Fashion Designers of America in advance of its 2016 award ceremony on June 6.

Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row all picked up double nominations thanks to Designer of the Year nods in both Womenswear and Accessories.

Joining them in the Womenswear Designer category are Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte as well as Marc Jacobs.

The Menswear Designer selection honours Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School, Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone, Tim Coppens, and Thom Browne and Todd Snyder with nominations.

Irene Neuwirth as well as Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel also accepted nominations to the Accessories Designer category.

Awards partner Swarovski also announced nominees in three categories: Womenswear (Brandon Maxwell, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, and Ryan Roche); Menswear (Rio Uribe for Gypsy Sport, John Elliott, and Alex Orley, Matthew Orley and Samantha Orley for Orley), and Accessory Design (Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Gigi Burris, and Paul Andrew).

The ceremony on June 6 will be held at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

Norma Kamali will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award, Donna Karan with a Founder’s Award, Imran Amed of the Business of Fashion the Media Award, and Alessandro Michele of Gucci the International Award. David Bowie will be posthumously awarded the Board of Director’s Tribute.

In this Story: #style / #fashion